Published On: Wed, Jan 11th, 2017

Senate Drops Akinwande for NERC Chairmanship Job

By Modupe Gbadeyanka

The Senate on Tuesday dropped the nominee for the chairmanship position of the Nigerian Electricity Regulatory Commission (NERC), Prof. Akintunde Akinwande.

The Senate explained that it took the decision because the nominee failed to appear before its Committee on Power, Steel Development and Metallurgy for screening.

However, the red chamber confirmed the nomination of six members for the board of NERC and they are Nathan Rogers Shatti (North-East), Sanusi Garba (North-West), Moses Arigu (North-Central), Frank Okafor (South-East) and Musiliu Oseni (South-West), Dafe Akpedeye (South-South).

ALSO READ  Church Tragedy: Gov Emmanuel Sets Up Panel of Enquiry

But Sanusi Garba was confirmed as Vice-Chairman of NERC, while the other five were confirmed as commissioners.

The Senate Committee on Power, Steel Development and Metallurgy has advised President Muhammadu Buhari to nominate another candidate for the NERC’s top job.

The Committee said it was left with no choice to seek for Prof Akinwande’s replacement because of his refusal to appear for screening. This is not the first time he has failed to do so.

©Business Post Nigeria. Permission to reproduce, publish, broadcast, rewrite or redistribute this content or any other on this website in whole or in part is granted so far appropriate credit is given to as the source.  
ALSO READ  I Never Rejected Buhari’s Job—Prof Akinwande
If you seek further information, please contact us via or call 08180851450.   Do you have a story  for us or you want your press releases published on our platform or you simply want us to cover your event? Kindly reach us through the above contact details. Thank you.

About the Author

- Modupe Gbadeyanka is a fast-rising journalist with Business Post Nigeria. Her passion for journalism is amazing. She is willing to learn more with a view to becoming one of the best pen-pushers in Nigeria. Her role models are the duo of CNN's Richard Quest and Christiane Amanpour.

Leave a comment

XHTML: You can use these html tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

%d bloggers like this: